Network Members

The Down East region boasts 5 universities/colleges, over 25 land trusts, ~15 conservation organizations/institutions, ~6 state and federal government agency offices and four Native American tribes (Passamaquoddy, Penobscot, Maliseet, and Micmac)

Regional Land Trusts and Other Conserved Lands
Washington County:

Hancock County

Conservation Organizations

Academic and Research Institutions


  • Maine Bureau of Parks and Lands
  • Maine Coastal Islands National Wildlife Refuge
  • Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife
  • Maine Department of Marine Resources
  • Maine Geological Survey
  • Maine Sea Grant
  • Moosehorn National Wildlife Refuge
  • Natural Resource Conservation Service
  • St Croix International Waterway Commission

Philanthropic and Economic Development Institutions

  • Elmina B. Sewall Foundation
  • Maine Community Foundation
  • Sunrise County Economic Council